Top pairings | Pairing wine with vegan food

Top pairings

Pairing wine with vegan food

With media interest in vegan food at an unprecedented high you might wonder which wines vegans can drink. Quite a lot as it happens ...

Vegans are only slightly more restricted than vegetarians when it comes to winedrinking. The issue is in the fining process which removes any solid particles from the wine. Some wines are fined with animal products like gelatin and isinglass (fish bladder) which rules them out for both vegetarians and vegans. Other producers, particularly of fine wines, use egg whites which would obviously be unacceptable to vegans. Some wines, however, are unfined for extra flavour and texture so those wouldn't cause any problems.

Fortunately most supermarket own label wines specify whether they’re suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Many online retailers give this information on branded wines too though in the absence of this it makes sense to check with the producer for reassurance.

That said veganism carries with it a whole approach to food which may affect your attitude to wine. You may well want to avoid wines made from grapes that are treated with artificial fertilisers, herbicides and pesticides and to which products like enzymes are added. Organic and biodynamic wines are likely to appeal.

You may also be attracted by wines that are made from indigenous or wild yeasts or which use a minimum of or no added sulphur in which case you should look out for so-called ‘natural’ wines, a somewhat controversial description which basically refers to wines that are made without any of the products common to conventional winemaking.

The style of food you’re eating may also have implications for the type of wine you drink. If your diet is largely plant-based you may find white wines more appealing than reds though pulses like lentils and beans and richly flavoured ingredients such as aubergines (eggplant) and mushrooms can easily handle the tannins of a medium to full-bodied red. Raw dishes tend to work well with crisp whites and rosés.

But as with meat, fish and dairy it’s more about the way you cook a dish than the base ingredient. Tofu, for example, has no significant flavour of its own - it depends what you put with it. Spicy foods benefit from wines with a touch of sweetness like a pinot gris or riesling. Umami-rich Japanese dishes work well with wines that are aged on their lees like white burgundy, muscadet and champagne.

A really useful site I picked up from the comments on wine writer Eric Asimov’s article in the New York Times is Barnivore which has a vegan alcohol directory with over 14,000 listings including beer, cider and spirits.

You may also find this article I wrote on wine with vegetarian food useful

Image © ehidna -

If you found this post helpful and would like to support the website which is free to use it would be great if you'd make a donation towards its running costs or sign up to my regular Substack newsletter Eat This, Drink That for extra benefits.


You may also enjoy …

Comments: 6 (Add)

Fiona Beckett on January 16 2018 at 13:14

Thanks, Angeline. Hadn't picked that up.

Angeline Bayly on January 16 2018 at 12:24

As ever, on-trend with a hot topic!
I read on today that the closures are also important eg beeswax seals and a milk-based glue used in agglomerated corks.

Bob Lindo on January 10 2016 at 15:25

All Camel Valley wines are, and have been, suitable for vegans for 25 years

Tony Milanowski on January 11 2015 at 14:18

Many Vegans would find that your recommendation Biodynamic wines to problematic as they involve animal products in the vineyard.

The use of Prep 501 (manure in cow horn) and sprayed on the vines, which is fundamental to biodynamic certification would be considered by some Vegans as be contrary to their philosophy.

The other compost preps that involve use of animal internal organs would also be unacceptable.

Finally Steiner advocated 'ashing' vineyard pest which involves capturing problematic animals (including birds, rabbits etc), burning them (whole or important parts of them) and then distributing them over a vineyard.

Fiona Beckett on January 3 2014 at 12:31

Great to hear! Hope other producers will say if they do too.

a'Beckett's Vineyard on January 3 2014 at 12:23

Good article, good vegan friendly wine is out there including some from our vineyard here in England.

Recent posts …

About FionaAbout FionaEvents and appearancesEvents and appearancesWork with meWork with me